top of page

Same Same but Different

As international students, this has become one of our favorite phrases to use here in Chiang Mai because it applies to so many different contexts. "Same same but different" is basically a simpler way of saying, "oh, yes I understand, we have something similar in my home country, but we call it this and we use it this way instead, aka it is similar, but not the same. This phrase is used primarily by vendors, drivers and any Thai's who interact with farangs (foreigners) on a regular basis. I did a little research, and found that there is no simple explanation as to where this phrase originated, but a plausible theory is that it was mistranslated from the Thai phrase: "klai klai dtae mai meuan" which literally means, "similar but not quite the same". Another theory suggests that Thai's like to repeat words twice, which carried over into English and thus the phrase "same, same". Realizing that things were not in fact, completely the same, the word "different" was then added on.

Regardless of it's origin, the phrase is fairly amusing and used practically on a daily basis. For example, I get coffee every morning at the same stand and the women there now recognize me, so when I approach they will smile and ask, "same, same?" And I will nod and say, "same same, ka". (Ka is basically the feminine version of please). When I am ordering food at a restaurant and I want the same thing as my friend, but I want it less spicy I can merely say, "same same but different, noy phet" (a little spicy). When I talk to Thai students who have a limited English vocabulary and we are comparing stories, this phrase also comes in handy. I think the first time I heard and used it was during our homestay's last month when communication was a real challenge. Anyway, you get the idea - it's very useful!

Other than it's practical usage, however, I think "same same but different" is honestly a great blanket metaphor for my experience abroad thus far. Life across the globe certainly contrasts greatly from life in the United States, with obvious factors being the time difference, dominant language, form of government and climate. But there are also many ways in which life is similar - not identical, but similar. For example, the campus of Chiang Mai University has many similarities to many campuses you would see in the US. There are various "faculties" or schools based on one's chosen major (and the majors are somewhat the same), there are different "canteens" or cafeterias where one can get food, there is a huge library, a student center, a gym and shuttles to get you around campus. Even the classrooms look the same, and the cafes have the same types of coffee and tea options. The bars and restaurants have a similar set up to those in the US, except that Thais are more trusting so you almost always pay after the meal, never before, even if its informal. Many of the fruits and vegetables are the same, except with different Thai names, and there are tons of chains like Dunkin' Donuts and McDonalds which you can find all over the world -- they are just more expensive.

Okay yes - much of this "similarity" is based on Westernization of the East, or what historians call occidentalism. However, when I left the US I had this fantasy in my head that I would be living in a completely alien world, where fashion, customs and food would all be foreign to me. Don't get me wrong, there has been plenty to get used to, but there is also much to find comfort in. Case and point: I brought very conservative clothing here, thinking I wouldn't ever be allowed to wear shorts or tank tops. I also assumed I would need to buy a totally new wardrobe here because my style wouldn't fit in. This proved to be totally false - Thai's have a great fashion sense and the only places one needs to wear conservative clothing is at a temple. Furthermore, Southeast Asian students love watching Netflix, listening to music, gossiping and going out to bars on the weekend just as much as the next American -- why wouldn't they? My point here is merely that, while there has been much to adapt too, there are also many points of connection and international similarity that we should not take for granted as farangs, or use an excuse to separate ourselves.

I've also found that my lifestyle here is not all that different from my daily habits at home, minus a few major obvious factors. I still like to sleep in, drink coffee and read the news. And at night, I try to give myself time to unwind before I go to bed because my days are so busy, which is something I've always done. Even my service work somewhat resembles work that I have done in America.

Recently, I started teaching at an organization called BEAM (Bridging Education Access to Migrants), which is an NGO helping Burmese migrants prepare to take the English GED. This has replaced my lessons with the novice monks, which only lasted for two weeks due to scheduling conflicts. Since these migrants are not able to obtain citizenship, they can't matriculate into Thai schools, so their only way of passing high school is through the GED test. Since this test was created in the US, any migrants must take it in English. Can you imagine having to take a high school test like the SATs in your second language? Think about how hard reading comprehension would be! I'm not even good at English reading comprehension..

Anyway, I am teaching Pre-Algebra just like I did with City Year in Miami, which is why this work feels so familiar. When our director asked about any skills we thought we could bring to our service I mentioned that i had taught math, which is how I ended up here. And I am so grateful! Although I was apprehensive going into it, I had an amazing first class with the students. Technically their scheduled classes are in the morning and evening because many of them work during the day. So my workshops, which are during the afternoon, are just supplemental practice. Nevertheless, I still ended up having seventeen students in my 90 minute workshop, ranging from ages sixteen to twenty-five, with a few adults scattered in the mix (note: this is an age estimate based on what I know about BEAM; I'm not actually sure of the ages of each of my students and there will not be the same students present each time). Prior to this class I had met with the current math teacher who has been volunteering with BEAM for around five years, and she gave me a list of topics to focus on. At the beginning of class I took attendance (and butchered almost everyone's name), then went over the topics to see which one's the students seemed less confident about. We then did practice problems on the board together, before splitting off into small groups and working on problems that I assigned from the workbook. It was wonderfully refreshing to have some structure after my experience teaching the monks, and I was thoroughly impressed by these individual's English proficiency. Since the GED is in English, I taught the entire class in English, and they had no problem following along. Some of them even told me afterwards how helpful the class had been in clearing up confusion regarding certain concepts. I felt like I had really made an impact from just this one class; I wasn't just fumbling around to fill time, and more importantly, my students had actually gotten something out of it!

Long story short, I'm psyched to return for teaching tomorrow (Monday) and I'll be going to BEAM as often as possible in the next three-four weeks I have left in Thailand, which is CRAZY! Time really flies! And while I've enjoyed bragging about how much I love my service, my real message here is that: yes, coming to a new country is scary and unfamiliar, and there is definitely a significant adjustment period, but when you've gotten past this phase and you begin to assimilate, you realize you have more in common with foreigners and their lifestyles than you think, and there are plenty of ways to connect! After all, on a human level we're really just the "same same, but different". :)

On Wednesday we leave for a four day trip to Chiang Rai, which is the farthest Northern point of Thailand where the Golden Triangle is located. This is where the borders of Thailand, Laos and Burma touch - hence, the "triangle". We are doing a bunch of sightseeing, meeting with NGOs and learning about the Opium trade, which was heavily influenced by China (that's all I know so far). But I'm very excited, so stay tuned for another post in the next week all about this trip! And I apologize for the lack of pictures here, when my phone got run over I lost my camera abilities, but I just bought a separate camera today so I'll have more up soon!

Happy fall everyone :) Be well!

-Amy


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page